Recording of CLC's January 2024 webinar on Minnesota's new Earned Sick and Safe Time law.
Effective January 1, 2024, nearly all Minnesota workers will benefit from the new Earned Sick and Safe Time (ESST) law. This new law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees who work in the state.
WHO is eligible for ESST?
- Any employee who works at least 80 hours in a year for a Minnesota employer; (full-time, part-time, seasonal) and
- They are not an independent contractor.
HOW much sick and safe time can employees earn?
- An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked.
- Employees can earn a maximum of 48 hours each year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.
WHAT can sick and safe time be used for?
- the employee's mental or physical illness, treatment, or preventative care;
- a family member's mental or physical illness, treatment, or preventative care (note, "family" includes a wide range of people);
- absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking of the employee or a family member;
- closure of the employee’s workplace due to weather or public emergency or closure of a family member’s school or care facility due to weather or public emergency; and
- when determined by a health authority or health care professional that the employee or a family member is at risk of infecting others with a communicable disease.
To get more detailed information, visit the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry's ESST website.