Effective January 1, 2024: Minnesota’s Earned Sick and Safe Time Law
Beginning January 1st, 2024 Minnesota’s new Earned Sick and Safe Time law requires that employees receive paid leave for certain reasons. These reasons include:
· When an employee is sick
· When an employee needs to care for a sick family member
· When an employee has experienced domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking
· When an employee’s family member has experienced domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking
The paid time off is earned time off, which means that for every 30 hours worked an employee earns one hour of time off towards a maximum of 48 hours off each year. Employers may choose to front-load the 48 hours instead.
You are eligible for sick and safe time if you work at least 80 hours a year for an employer in Minnesota and aren’t an independent contractor. If you work part time or as a temporary employee you are covered under this law.
I have a cancer diagnosis and I haven’t told my employer yet, can I still use Earned Sick and Safe Time without telling my employer about my diagnosis?
Yes, you are not required to disclose the reason why you are using sick and safe time.
I have a loved one affected by cancer? Can I use Earned Sick and Safe Time to care of them?
Yes, as a caregiver you can use sick and safe time to care for a sick family member.
Cancer Legal Care will be hosting a webinar Tuesday January 23th, 2023 at 12pm. Please join us by using the following link: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_pgsMxjW_RWGo_VOUiRhz6g#/registration
If you’d like to speak with one of our attorneys more about Minnesota’s Earned Sick and Safe Time law and how you can use it to support yourself or a loved one please call us at 651 917 9000 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org